How do I deactivate Workplace accounts in bulk?

This article is only applicable to Workplace system admins.
As an alternative to deactivating employees one by one, you can deactivate multiple accounts in bulk by uploading a CSV file that contains the email addresses, mobile phone numbers or employee IDs for the accounts that you wish to deactivate.
To upload a valid CSV file and deactivate accounts in bulk:
  1. On Workplace, click Admin PanelAdmin Panel in the left menu.
  2. Click People.
  3. Click More at the top right, then click Deactivate multiple profiles.
  4. Click Download Template. This downloads a CSV file to your computer.
  5. Open the file and add the information for the accounts you want to deactivate.
    • You need to include either email address or mobile number or employee ID. If you enter mobile numbers, include the country code with or without the plus sign. For example, you can enter +44 or 44.
  6. Save the file to your computer and return to Workplace.
  7. Click Upload CSV and select your file.
    • Once the CSV file has been uploaded, a page will load that tells you whether there are any errors in your file that need changing, or whether the account will be deactivated.
  8. When everything is correct, click Save changes.
You can then click View people to see a list of all deactivated users.
Keep in mind that when you deactivate accounts in bulk, there might be a delay depending on the amount of users that are deactivated.
How to check that accounts have been deactivated
As mentioned above, you can click View people when you successfully save a deactivation CSV file.
You can also check this list later:
  1. On Workplace, click Admin PanelAdmin Panel in the left menu.
  2. Click People.
  3. Click Add filter above the list of names.
  4. Select Account status and then deactivated.
  5. Click away from the filter box, and a list of deactivated accounts will appear.
Note: Keep in mind that it may take up to 24 hours for the deactivation of a user account to take effect.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No