How do I deactivate Workplace accounts in bulk?
Change platform:Computer Help
This article is only applicable to Workplace system admins.
As an alternative to deactivating employees one by one, you can deactivate multiple accounts in bulk by uploading a CSV file that contains the email addresses or mobile phone numbers for the accounts that you wish to deactivate.
To upload a valid CSV file and deactivate accounts in bulk:
- From your News Feed, click Admin Panel in the left menu.
- Click People.
- From click Deactivate Multiple Profiles.
- You'll be presented with the option to upload a CSV file. The file should contain a single column with the email addresses or mobile numbers for each employee to be deactivated on separate rows.
- If you enter mobile numbers, include the country code with or without the plus sign. For example, you can enter +44 or just 44.
Once the CSV file has been uploaded, you'll be presented with a confirmation screen that will list any errors in the CSV. The first column will display the results for each row:
- A checkmark will denote that the employee's account has already been deactivated.
- An error triangle will denote an issue with that row. Hover over the icon to display the error message.
- The employee's account will be deactivated if the first column is empty.
You can download the information from the preview by clicking the Export Preview button.
Once the preview details have been confirmed, you can deactivate the selected accounts by clicking the Deactivate Accounts button. The accounts will then be deactivated.
Keep in mind that when you deactivate accounts in bulk, there might be a delay depending on the amount of users that are deactivated.
Verify Accounts Deactivated
To confirm that all accounts were deactivated successfully, re-upload the CSV file and verify that all rows have the checkmark in the first column of their row.
Note: Keep in mind that it may take up to 24 hours for the deactivation of a user account to take effect.