Why am I being asked to upgrade my client on Workplace?

From October 2021, you may see a notification in Workplace asking you to upgrade your client.
You will see this notification if your internet connection is encrypted with an older version of Transport Layer Security (TLS). This will be version 1.0 (v1.0) or 1.1 (v1.1).
We are asking Workplace customers with internet connections using TLS to update to version 1.2 or above. This is so we can provide the best encryption and security for our customers.
If you are still using v1.0 or v1.1 after 15 November 2021, then you will start to experience poor performance on Workplace or be entirely unable to connect.
How do I upgrade my TLS version?
Upgrade to the latest operating system version on your desktop. Then, download the latest version of one of our supported browsers:
The default versions of these all support the latest versions of TLS.
If you have customised the browser to specifically use older versions of TLS, then adjust these settings to use new versions following the browser’s instructions.
How will I know that I have successfully upgraded my TLS version?
When you have connected using the new TLS, the notice on Workplace asking you to update will disappear.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No